PASADENA, Calif. – Rose Bowl Game® legends Ron Dayne, Dick Enberg and George Fleming headline the 2011 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class to be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony supported by Wells Fargo at noon on Saturday, December 31, 2011, at the Pasadena Convention Center.

“The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame recognizes the finest class of individuals to have played, coached and contributed their talents on the hallowed field of the Rose Bowl Stadium,” said Tournament of Roses Interim Executive Director Bill Flinn. “We are proud to annually induct a class which will be honored for years to come through this ceremony.”

The Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All®.

Over the past 22 years, a total of 101 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored by a permanent plaque with their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

Ron Dayne started four years at running back for the University of Wisconsin. During his career as a Badger, Dayne set the NCAA Division I-A rushing record for total yards gaining 1,863 yards as a freshman, 1,421 as a sophomore, 1,325 as a junior and 1,834 as a senior. He led the Badgers to bowl games each season with his most impressive performances coming in the 1999 and 2000 Rose Bowl Game victories where he rushed for 246 yards and 200 yards, respectively. Dayne won MVP honors in both games, becoming only the third player in the history of the Rose Bowl Game to repeat as MVP — and the first Big Ten player; a record still held today. Dayne won the Heisman Trophy in 1999 along with numerous accolades, including Big Ten Player of the Year; he also garnered All-American honors in 1996, 1998 and 1999. His name and number is one of six displayed on the Camp Randall Stadium façade with his number being officially retired from the Wisconsin Football program in 2007. Dayne was selected with the 11th pick by the New York Giants in the 2000 NFL Draft and stayed with the program for five years. In 2005, he was signed by the Denver Broncos and in 2006, signed with the Houston Texans. Dayne resides in Madison and is currently involved with various marketing and charitable activities.

Dick Enberg began his full-time broadcasting career in 1965 in Los Angeles as the radio and television voice of the California Angels, UCLA basketball and the Los Angeles Rams. Before joining NBC, he was named California Sportscaster of the Year four times. Throughout his career, he has earned a series of national honors, including 14 Emmy Awards, nine Sportscaster of the Year Awards, the Ronald Reagan Media Award and the distinguished Victor Award, for top sportscaster of the past 40 years. As one of the most versatile play-by play announcers in sports broadcasting, he has taken on assignments including the NFL, Super Bowl, Olympic Games, Wimbledon, The Masters, Ryder Cup, World Series, NCAA Men's Basketball Championships and the NBA Playoffs to name a few. Enberg took over as lead play-by-play announcer for the network's telecast of the Rose Bowl Game in 1980. He would be in the booth in Pasadena every year until ABC picked up the broadcast in 1988. In 1974, he won an Emmy for coverage of the Rose Parade. Enberg's versatility is reflected in the fact that he is the only person to win national Emmy Awards as a sportscaster, writer and producer. He also received a Lifetime Achievement Emmy Award in 2000. Enberg is the father of six. He and his wife, Barbara, reside in La Jolla, Calif. He has authored two best-selling books, Dick Enberg Oh My! and Dick Enberg's Humorous Quotes for All Occasions. Enberg is also a critically acclaimed playwright with the production of his one-man play, McGuire, about legendary Marquette University basketball coach, broadcasting partner and friend, Al McGuire.

Senator George Fleming served as a running back, kicker, kick returner, punt returner and defensive safety for the University of Washington Huskies. In his second year, the Huskies posted a 10-1 record and reached the 1960 Rose Bowl Game. At running back, Fleming scored one touchdown and helped set up his team for two more; he also kicked a field goal and five extra points. For his performance, he was named the Rose Bowl Game’s co-most valuable player with Bob Schloredt. Washington went on to defeat Wisconsin, 44-8. In 1961, the Huskies returned to the Rose Bowl Game. Fleming scored the game’s first points on his 44-yard field goal, which at the time, was the longest in Rose Bowl Game history. He went on to convert the extra point for Washington’s next two touchdowns and helped cap another Rose Bowl Game victory-this time against Minnesota, 17-7. In his career, Fleming received second team All-Coast halfback honors and first team All-Coast honors. He was inducted into the University of Washington Hall of Fame in 1980 and played several years in the NFL and CFL. In 1968, George Fleming was elected to the Washington State House of Representatives and in 1970, the Washington State Senate. Senator Fleming was a tireless advocate for civil rights and the underprivileged and strove for improvements in the quality of education while supporting small businesses and economic development. He retired in 1991 after twenty-two years of service to the State of Washington. Sen. Fleming and his wife Tina have two daughters, as well as five grandchildren, all of whom reside in Seattle, Washington.

Legendary announcer and Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee Keith Jackson will once again serve as the master of ceremonies for the Induction Ceremony. The luncheon is open for public attendance and tickets are available online at www.tournamentofroses.com or by calling 626-449-4100.

Following the induction ceremony and the Kickoff Luncheon on January 1, the three inductees will be honored at the 98th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO at 2:10 p.m. PST (5:10 p.m. EST) on January 2, 2012, at the historic Rose Bowl Stadium.

- ROSE -

About the Pasadena Tournament of Roses®

The Pasadena Tournament of Roses is a volunteer organization that annually hosts the Rose Parade® presented by Honda, Rose Bowl Game® presented by VIZIO and various associated events. The 123rd Rose Parade presented by Honda, themed Just Imagine, will take place Monday, Jan. 2, 2012, at 8 a.m. (PST) featuring majestic floral floats, high-stepping equestrian units and spirited marching bands. Following the parade, the 98th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO will kick off at 2:10 p.m. and feature an exciting match-up between two of the top collegiate football teams in the nation. For additional information on the Tournament of Roses please visit the official website at www.tournamentofroses.com

Connect With Us


By Category