The Tournament of Roses is governed by a Board of Directors made up of all living past presidents (referred to as Life Directors) of the Tournament, 16 Directors elected from the membership ranks (primarily from among those who are serving as committee chairs) and the 14 members who have been elected to the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee oversees much of the day-to-day policy-setting and business affairs decision-making. The Executive Committee includes a president, executive vice president, treasurer, secretary, four vice presidents, and the immediate past president, as well as additional “at-large” members. It is customary that after serving four consecutive years on the Executive Committee as a vice president, a director will ascend to the office of secretary in the fifth year, treasurer in the sixth year, executive vice president in the seventh year, and then president in the eighth year.

The five at-large members of the Executive Committee each serve two-year terms; elections are structured so that there is a combination of first and second year at-large representatives.

The Executive Committee represents the Tournament of Roses Association as its primary leader for numerous public relations activities, band visitations, sponsor relations, government relations, etc. The Executive Committee also ensures the progression of leadership development for the organization, staff and volunteer members.


Gerald Freeny – President

Laura Farber – Executive Vice President

Robert B. Miller – Treasurer

Amy Wainscott – Secretary

Lance Tibbet – Past President

Alex Aghajanian – Vice President

Ed Morales – Vice President

Mark Leavens – Vice President

Terry Madigan – Vice President

Zareh Baghdassarian – At-Large

Teresa Chaure – At-Large

James Jones – At-Large

Janet Makonda – At-Large

Herman Quispe – At-Large



Executive Office

Community Relations

Creative & Development



Marketing and Communications

Membership Services

Procurement and Facilities


Interested in getting involved with the Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association? See our Membership page to learn more.