PASADENA, Calif. – Paddy Driscoll, George Halas and Neil Snow have been nominated as finalists for the Rose Bowl Game All-Century Class as representatives from the 1900’s and 1910’s. The candidates, as voted by an esteemed panel from the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), are the first of a series of names who will be unveiled each Sunday throughout the remainder of the college football regular season.

In commemoration of the 100th Rose Bowl Game, the All-Century Class will highlight and honor great players and coaches throughout the history of The Granddaddy of Them All.

A closer look at the finalists from the 1900’s and 1910’s:

Nationally respected for his play as quarterback for Northwestern and considered one of the outstanding backs in the early history of the game, Paddy Driscoll excelled for the Great Lakes Navy team. Completing 4 of 8 passes for 77 yards, Driscoll lead Great Lakes Navy to a 17-0 victory over the Mare Island Marines in 1919. Driscoll returned punts for a total of 115 yards and punted six times for an average of 43.3 yards (including punts of 50 and 60 yards.) He is also noted for a drop-kicked field goal from the 30-yard line.

Long before the nickname “Papa Bear,” George Halas showcased his talents in the 1919 Rose Bowl Game. A three sport collegiate athlete at Illinois, Halas became a member of the Great Lakes Navy squad during a time college football teams were depleted due to World War I. In addition to a 45-yard touchdown reception against the Mare Island Marines, Halas returned an interception 77 yards to the Mare Island 3-yard line. For his performance, Halas was named Player of the Game.

The first touchdown in Rose Bowl Game history was scored by Neil Snow, a running back for the powerhouse Michigan squad that defeated Stanford 49-0, in the first Rose Bowl Game on January 1, 1902. That touchdown was the first of five for Snow, a Rose Bowl Game record that has never been broken. Snow’s five five-point touchdowns also gave him the record for the most points scored in a Rose Bowl Game. He was inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame in 1990.

The FWAA voting committee will select one Rose Bowl Game representative from each decade to comprise the All-Century Class. In addition, one overall player and one overall coach will be highlighted at a press conference on Selection Sunday, which will take place on December 8, 2013, in Pasadena.

Connect With Us


By Category