Theme and Grand Marshal

Theme of the 2016 Rose Parade

Theme Poster

"Find Your Adventure" is the theme of the 127th Rose Parade presented by Honda.

Find Your Adventure is a theme that has grown out of a unique partnership between the Pasadena Tournament of Roses and the U.S. National Park Service. The 2016 Rose Parade will help shine light on the centennial celebration of our nation’s national parks.

Both the Tournament of Roses and the National Park Service aim to preserve history, connect people through real-life experiences and engage the public in new adventures. As proponents of the American spirit, we encourage you to find beauty in the landscape that builds the backdrop of your lives. From coast-to-coast, we will add your stories of adventure to our collection while protecting our unique heritage and looking to the future.

Every person’s adventure is different – you may find yours at the top of a mountain while mine is in my backyard; your adventure may be extraordinary while mine is familiar. Our hope for the New Year is that however you define it, you will find your adventure and enrich your life. 

Past parade themes can be found on our Media Resources page under Historical Lists.


Grand Marshal of the 2015 Rose Parade

Louis Zamperini

2015 Rose Parade Grand Marshal Louis Zamperini

Olympian and World War II prisoner of war, Louis Zamperini, a true American hero who survived excessive hardships will be the Grand Marshal for the 2015 Rose Parade, themed "Inspiring Stories." Despite Mr. Zamperini's passing, the Tournament of Roses is dedicated to honoring him as the Grand Marshal of the 2015 Rose Parade.

Zamperini wrote his personal history in the book "Devil at My Heels" and his life story was documented in the New York Times best-selling book, "Unbroken," written by Pulitzer Prize winning author, Laura Hillenbrand. In December 2014, Universal Pictures will release the movie, "Unbroken," a feature adaptation of the book. Born in 1917 to Italian immigrants, Zamperini moved to Torrance, California in 1919 and became a world-class runner by the end of high school. Qualifying to run in the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, he was America’s top finisher in the 5000 meter run, finishing the final lap in 56 seconds and causing Adolf Hitler to request a personal meeting with the track star.

During World War II, Zamperini retired from running and joined the U.S. Armed Forces as a bombardier in the South Pacific. While on a reconnaissance mission, Zamperini’s aircraft crashed into the Pacific Ocean. He and a crewmate survived for 47 days in shark-infested waters eventually drifting into a Japanese-controlled region where he was held and tortured for another two years. He survived the brutality of the war and came back to Southern California where he was treated like a hero and celebrated for his longevity. Zamperini married, had a family and started on a quest of forgiveness as an inspirational speaker – meeting with and forgiving the Japanese military guards who tortured him.

Zamperini lectured around the world on how to deal with stress, the meaning of Olympic spirit and the freedom he found through a personal relationship with God.


Past Grand Marshals

2015Louis Zamperini 1951Cpl. Robert S. Gray
2014Vin Scully 1950Paul G. Hoffman 
2013Dr. Jane Goodall 1949Perry Brown
2012J.R. Martinez 1948Gen. Omar Bradley
2011Paula Deen 1947Bob Hope 
2010Capt. Chesley B. Sullenberger III  1946Adm. William Halsey
2009Cloris Leachman 1945Former U.S. President Herbert Hoover
2008Emeril Lagasse 1944Amos Alonzo Stagg
2007George Lucas 1943Earl Warren 
2006Sandra Day O’Connor 1942Kay Kyser
2005Mickey Mouse 1941E.O. Nay
2004John Williams 1940Edgar Bergen and Charlie McCarthy
2003Bill Cosby, Art Linkletter, Fred Rogers 1939Shirley Temple 
2002Regis Philbin 1938Leo Carrillo
2001Tom Brokaw 1937Eugene Biscailuz
2000Roy E. Disney 1936James V. Allred
1999Buzz Aldrin, Jackie Robinson (posthumously), Shirley Temple Black, David L. Wolper 1935Harold Lloyd
1998Carol Burnett 1934Adm. William S. Sims
1997Carl Lewis, Shannon Miller 1933Mary Pickford
1996Kermit the Frog 1932William May Garland
1995Juan “Chi Chi” Rodriguez 1931Gen. C.S. Farnsworth
1994William Shatner 1930James Rolph
1993Angela Lansbury 1929Marco Hellman
1992His Grace, Cristobol Colon; Congressman Ben Nighthorse Campbell 1928John McDonald
1991Bob Newhart 1927Dr. C.D. Lockwood
1990Senator John Glenn 1926Col. L.J. Mygatt
1989Shirley Temple Black  1925Lewis H. Turner
1988Gregory Peck 1924Col. George S. Parker
1987Pele 1923H.L. Gianett
1986Erma Bombeck 1922Harold Landreth
1985Lee A. Iacocca 1921W.A. Boucher
1984Danny Kaye 1920Frank G. Hogan
1983Merlin Olsen 1919Frank Hunter
1982Jimmy Stewart 1918Dr. Z.T. Malaby
1981Lorne Greene 1917Dr. C.D. Lockwood
1980Frank Sinatra 1916Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1979Lathrop K. Leishman 1915M.S. Pashgian
1978Former U.S. President Gerald R. Ford 1914Charles Daggett 
1977Roy Rogers and Dale Evans 1913Leigh Guyer
1976Kate Smith 1912E.H. Groenendyke
1975Henry L. “Hank” Aaron 1911Dr. Ralph Skillen 
1974Charles M. Schulz 1910Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1973John Wayne 1909Walter S. Wright
1972Lawrence Welk 1908Dr. Ralph Skillen
1971Reverend Billy Graham 1907Dr. Ralph Skillen 
1970Apollo 12 Astronauts:  Alan L. Bean, Charles Conrad Jr., Richard F. Gordon Jr. 1906John B. Miller
1969Bob Hope  1905Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1968Everett Dirksen 1904Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1967Thanat Khoman 1903C.C. Reynolds 
1966Walt Disney 1902C.C. Reynolds 
1965Arnold Palmer 1901Charles Daggett 
1964Former U.S. President Dwight D. Eisenhower 1900Charles Daggett 
1963Dr. William H. Pickering 1899Martin H. Weight
1962Albert D. Rosellini 1898Martin H. Weight
1961William F. Quinn 1897Edwin Stearns 
1960U.S. Vice President Richard M. Nixon  1896Edwin Stearns 
1959E.L. “Bob” Bartlett 1895Dr. H.H. Sherk
1958Robert Gordon Sproul 1894Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1957Eddie Rickenbacker 1893No Grand Marshal
1956Charles E. Wilson 1892Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1955Earl Warren  1891No Grand Marshal
1954Gen. William F. Dean  1890Dr. Francis F. Rowland
1953Senator Richard M. Nixon   
1952Medal of Honor Men:  Lt. Stanley Adams, Capt. Raymond Harvey, Lt. Thomas Hudner, Sgt. Ernest Kouma, Capt. Lewis Millet, Sgt. Joseph Rodriguez, Maj. Carl Sitter


Connect with the
Rose Parade

2015 Event Guide

Download 2015 Event Guide

Upcoming Events

December 27, 2015 at 9:00am
December 27, 2015 at 11:00am
December 29, 2015 at (All day)
December 29, 2015 at 10:00am