About the Rose Bowl Game


Rose Bowl Dual Signature

Known as the oldest of bowls, the Rose Bowl Game kicked off a myriad college football legacies in 1902. Since then, the game has been home to 19 Heisman Trophy winners, produced 29 national champions, featured 208 consensus All-Americans and honored 113 college football legends by inducting them into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame.

The first Tournament of Roses football game, which was the first post-season football game in the nation, was staged at Tournament Park on January 1, 1902. The game matched the West Coast’s Stanford against Midwestern Michigan. (The teams would later become members of today’s Pac-12 and Big Ten conferences, respectively.) Michigan routed Stanford, 49-0, prompting the football contest to be replaced with Roman-style chariot races inspired by the literary classic Ben-Hur. Football was permanently reinstated as part of the Tournament’s traditions in 1916.

The exclusive agreement among the Tournament of Roses Association, the Big Ten Conference and the Pac-12 Conference was born in 1946, and the first game played under the agreement took place on January 1, 1947. The pact is the oldest intercollegiate postseason bowl agreement between two major conferences in the United States.

This collegiate classic has been the occasion of many firsts. The Rose Bowl Game was the occasion of first local radio broadcast of an East-West bowl game in 1926, the first transcontinental radio broadcast of a sporting event in 1927, the first local telecast of a college football game in 1948, the first national telecast of a college football game in 1952 and the first coast-to-coast color telecast of a collegiate football game in 1962.

The 102nd Rose Bowl Game will be held on January 1, 2016 at the Rose Bowl Stadium. The game will feature the champion of the Pac-12 and Big Ten Conference. If the Conference champion is selected to participate in the College Football Playoff Semifinal, the Rose Bowl Game will select the next best team in the conference. The Rose Bowl Game will host a College Football Playoff Semifinal in 2018. 

Latest News


On Saturday, June 27, boys and girls, ages 5 to 14, from Pasadena and the surrounding region are invited to attend the Northwestern Mutual Youth Football Clinic hosted by the Rose Bowl Game.  


Richard N. Frank, a Rose Bowl Game Hall of Fame member and honorary member of the Tournament of Roses, passed away on May 20 at his home in Pasadena. The chairman emeritus of Lawry’s restaurants was 92.


On January 1st, 2015, the site that hosted the first postseason college football game ever played will make history once again.

Connect with the
Rose Bowl Game

Game Day | Jan. 1, 2015

Download Game Day Guide

College Football Playoff

Visit the College Football Playoff Homepage

Upcoming Events

December 27, 2015 at 9:00am
December 27, 2015 at 11:00am
December 29, 2015 at (All day)
December 29, 2015 at 10:00am
December 31, 2015 at 12:00pm
January 1, 2016 at 8:00am
January 1, 2016 at 1:30pm