Pasadena Tournament of Roses News



1/16/2014 11:01:00 PM

PASADENA, Calif. (Jan. 16, 2014) – As his first official duty, Richard L. Chinen, president of the Tournament of Roses Association, announced this evening the leadership and organizational structure for the 2014-2015 Tournament year. Amy Wainscott, a Tournament volunteer since 1992, was elected to the Executive Committee and will serve as the Tournament’s president in 2022. She will provide leadership for the 133rd Rose Parade® and the 108th Rose Bowl Game® on Jan. 1, 2022.

Wainscott most recently served as the first female chairperson of the Tournament’s Parade Operations Committee. She also has chaired Coronation/VIP Tailgate, Float Entries and Queen & Court committees. She was first appointed a Tournament chairperson in 2008 and named a Tournament Director in 2011.

Professionally, Wainscott worked briefly for the City of Pasadena before making a career in the construction industry in the Pasadena area. She was a member of the steering committee for the original Rose Bowl Press Box Renovation in 1992, working for the construction management company. After 15 years as a general contractor specializing in residential construction and remodeling, Wainscott retired from the construction industry. She remains active in real estate investment and property management.

Wainscott (neé Kauzlaric) was born and raised in Eagle River, Wisc. After moving to California at age 18, Wainscott studied Administration of Justice at Pasadena City College and construction management at Cal Poly Pomona. In her spare time, she currently is working toward a degree in counseling. She and her husband Tim have six children, Peter, John, Amanda, Olivia, Hannah and Kirsten.

In addition, the following officers were elected to serve with Wainscott on the 14-member Executive Committee: Ira C. (Mike) Matthiessen, executive vice president; Brad Ratliff, treasurer; Lance M. Tibbet, secretary. R. Scott Jenkins, president of the Association in 2013-2014, is past president.

Re-elected to the Executive Committee are vice presidents Gerald K. Freeny, Laura V. Farber and Robert B. Miller. The five appointed at-large members are Jerome Cannon, J. Michael Gin, Barbara Kuntz, Philip V. Orozco and Laurie Stiver. Chinen also announced the election of five new members to the Association’s board of directors: Richard M. DeJesu, Greg Custer, Karen Jong, Russell C. Thyret and Ellen Swagerty.


Powered By XOS Digital