Pasadena Tournament of Roses News



12/2/2012 6:15:00 AM

PASADENA, Calif. – John Cooper, Brian Griese and Ron Yary headline the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Class of 2012 to be installed at the
Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony supported by Wells Fargo at noon on Sunday, December 30, 2012, at the Pasadena
Convention Center.

“We are honored to celebrate the accomplishments of these extraordinary individuals whose contributions at the historic Rose Bowl
Stadium have enriched our game’s great history,” said Tournament of Roses Executive Director Bill Flinn. “This class, like those that
came before, will be honored for years to come through this ceremony.”
The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the
history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition and honor associated
with The Granddaddy of Them All®.

Over the past 23 years, a total of 104 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored by a
permanent plaque with their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.
John Cooper was the first and currently the only head coach in the history of the Rose Bowl Game to lead both a Big Ten and a Pac-
12 team to victories - first with Arizona State in 1987 and then with Ohio State in 1997. In his three years at ASU, Cooper led his
teams to a school-record three consecutive bowl games and ended his career with the Sun Devils with an impressive 25-9-2 mark. At
Ohio State, Cooper ranks second only to the legendary Woody Hayes in all-time wins. He led his teams to ten consecutive bowl
games and finished his career with the Buckeyes posting a 111-43-4 record. During his career, he produced 21 first-team All-
American, 16 first-round draft picks and a Heisman Trophy winner. Prior to his stints at Arizona State and Ohio State, Cooper also
served as head coach at Tulsa. Cooper was named National Coach of the Year in 1986 by the Associated Press and received similar
honors from the Sporting News, Football Writers Football News and the Pac-12 Conference. Cooper served as president of the
American Football Coaches Association, an ESPN analyst and has been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, University of
Tulsa Hall of Fame, Knoxville, Tennessee Hall of Fame and Powell High School Hall of Fame. He and his wife, Helen, have two
children, John and Cindy.

Brian Griese played college football at the University of Michigan, where, as quarterback, he led the Wolverines to an undefeated
season in 1997 and a share of the national championship. Griese was selected player of the game in the 1998 Rose Bowl Game,
passing for 251 yards and three touchdowns in Michigan's win over Washington State. Altogether, he went 17-5 as a starter at
Michigan and was drafted by the Denver Broncos in the third round of the 1998 NFL Draft. In 2002, Griese founded Judi’s House in
memory of his mother who died when he was 12 years old. The center helps grieving children and families by offering grief
counseling and peer support groups to share the experience of loss with others. Judi's House has served more than 6,000 children
and their adult caregivers from the Denver area since opening. Brian and his father, NFL quarterback, Bob Griese, wrote a book
together, Undefeated, published in 2000, about their experiences through their undefeated seasons, living through the breast
cancer illness and the death of Brian's mother and Bob's first wife, Judi. Last year, Griese won the National "Sports in Philanthropy"
Patterson Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, a yearly award for one athlete across all sports for their charitable
work. Griese currently serves as a college football analyst for ESPN. He and his wife, Brook, have two children, Annalia Rose and

Ron Yary attended the University of Southern California where he was voted Pac-8 defensive lineman of the year and All-West Coast
for his play at defensive tackle before being moved to the offensive line his junior year. He was a consensus All-American as a junior
in 1966 and a unanimous All-American choice in 1967, his senior year. For his performance, Yary was the 1967 winner of both the
Outland Trophy and the Knute Rockne Award, awards that annually go to the nation's top collegiate lineman. Yary was the first
Trojan to receive this prestigious honor. He played in two Rose Bowl Games as a junior and senior, where the Trojans won the
national championship under Coach John McKay. During Yary's three seasons, the Trojans compiled a 24-7-1 record. He went on to
become the No. 1 pick in the 1968 NFL draft and then starred 14 seasons (1968-81) with the Minnesota Vikings and in 1982 played
with the Los Angeles Rams. He was a six-time NFL All-Pro and appeared in four Super Bowls with the Vikings. Yary was inducted into
the College Football Hall of Fame in 1987 and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2001. He and his wife, Jamie, have three children, Jack,
Grant and Kinley.

Legendary announcer and Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee Keith Jackson will once again serve as the master of ceremonies for the
Induction Ceremony. The luncheon is open for public attendance and tickets are available online at or
by calling 626-449-4100.

Following the induction ceremony and the Kickoff Luncheon on December 31, the three inductees will be honored at the 99th Rose Bowl
Game presented by VIZIO at 2:10 p.m. PST (5:10 p.m. EST) on January 1, 2013, at the historic Rose Bowl Stadium.

                                                                                                                     -- # # # --

About the Pasadena Tournament of Roses®

The Pasadena Tournament of Roses is a volunteer organization that annually hosts the Rose Parade® presented by Honda, Rose Bowl
Game® presented by VIZIO and various associated events. The 124th Rose Parade presented by Honda, themed Oh, The Places You’ll
Go! ™, will take place Tuesday, January 1, 2013, at 8 a.m. (PST) featuring majestic floral floats, high-stepping equestrian units and
spirited marching bands. Following the parade, the 99th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO will kick off at 2:10 p.m. and feature an
exciting match-up between two of the top collegiate football teams in the nation. For additional information on the Tournament of
Roses please visit the official website at

Powered By XOS Digital