Tournament Leadership

The Tournament of Roses is governed by a Board of Directors made up of all living past presidents (referred to as Life Directors) of the Tournament, 16 Directors elected from the membership ranks (primarily from among those who are serving as committee chairs) and the 14 members who have been elected to the Executive Committee as officers of the organization.

The Executive Committee oversees much of the day-to-day policy-setting and business affairs decision-making. The Executive Committee includes a president, executive vice president, treasurer, secretary, four vice presidents, and the immediate past president, as well as additional “at-large” members. It is customary that after serving four consecutive years on the Executive Committee as a vice president, a director will ascend to the office of secretary in the fifth year, treasurer in the sixth year, executive vice president in the seventh year, and then president in the eighth year.

The five at-large members of the Executive Committee each serve two-year terms; elections are structured so that there is a combination of first and second year at-large representatives.


Richard L. Chinen, President, 2015 Tournament of Roses

Ira “Mike” Matthiessen, Executive Vice President (2016 Tournament of Roses President)

Brad Ratliff, Treasurer (2017 Tournament of Roses President)

Lance M. Tibbet, Secretary (2018 Tournament of Roses President)

Gerald K. Freeny, Vice President (2019 Tournament of Roses President)

Laura V. Farber, Vice President (2020 Tournament of Roses President)

Robert B. Miller, Vice President (2021 Tournament of Roses President)

Amy Wainscott, Vice President (2022 Tournament of Roses President)

R. Scott Jenkins, Past President

Jerome Cannon, At-Large

J. Michael Gin, At-Large

Barbara Kuntz, At-Large

Philip V. Orozco, At-Large

Laurie Stiver, At-Large



William B. Flinn, Executive Director 

Edward Corey, Chief Operating Officer

Jeffrey J. Allen, Chief Financial Officer

Kevin R. Ash, Chief Administrative Officer – Rose Bowl Game


Powered By XOS Digital